SOPHISTICATED OUTERWEAR: Styling The Peacoat. 

Hey guys! How are you guys doing? Happy New month! I can’t believe it’s March already. Wasn’t it just yesterday we were all saying Happy New Year? Long time no blog post eh? Well, I was tied down with exams hence my less activeness on Social media. I couldn’t stay away completely. LOL. I’m glad it’s over. I can at least sleep for more than the 1hr-2hrs shuffle which was my sleeping routine this last 3 weeks.

I really do not understand Nigeria’s climate anymore. One minute it’s cold, the next, it’s hot but these days, it has been really hot! Which is really annoying. I shot this look a while back thinking the Harmattan was going to stay a while longer but alas, it’s gone with the wind. We move!

This look centers around this really nice navy peacoat. As Nigerians, we know coats, particularly Trench coats and peacoats are quite expensive when the prices are converted to Naira  especially with this present economic recession. Well, I got this when I went thrift shopping sometime last year for a price I actually didn’t believe at first when I heard it (#1500). When I saw it, I knew I had to get it and I already had so many plans for it.

 

Styling a peacoat is very similar to styling a trench coat and there are vast ways of styling both. For this look, I decided to go simple but not basic because we don’t do basic *smirk*.  It’s usually better when the base wear and the coat are around the same colour family. That’s why I went with this pair of dark blue pants to complement the coat. When selecting a shirt, if you don’t want to go with a monochromatic look, go with a shirt that would stand out but still pull the look together. I went with this floral print shirt courtesy of The Thrift Store NG (@thethriftstoreng).

When selecting the footwear to go with the look, do it without putting the peacoat in mind. The peacoat is like that extra that is more than an extra. It doesn’t make the peacoat look less attractive. I choose this pair of brown Brouges because they complement the details on the shirt and also blue and brown are a match made in heaven.

 

Without the peacoat, the look is still super duper. so you can decide to lose it when you feel uncomfortable.

 

I accessorised with this really cool sunnies from Haute Signature (@haute.signature). If you’re following me on The Gram (@collins.haute), you would have seen me do the unveiling on my instastory. I can gladly say my collection of sunnies is coming together and I think I’m becoming an addict. I mean, who doesn’t like attractive things.

There you have it guys! I hope this post is really helpful. Please leave your thoughts in the comment section and also share! Help a brother move up in the ministry. Thank you guys so much for sticking around. Till next time!

 

18 thoughts on “SOPHISTICATED OUTERWEAR: Styling The Peacoat. 

  1. Awwwwwnawwwwn dis z so nice 👏 sha b slaying evrytym. How was ur exams? Z it just me or u look lyk ajebutter99 in dese pictures, i lyk d vintage shirt with d whole look

    Like

  2. You know you’re definitely one of my favorite male bloggers because u always kill it. I love this look so much it’s soooo sophisticated 👌 ✨. And yes to collecting Sunnies they are one of the coolest things ever. This was a great read Collins keep Slayspiring ✋

    Like

Leave a Reply

